The Norwegian series produced by Maipo Film with support from Nordisk Film & TV Fond, is among 10 high-end TV dramas that will world premiere at the first Canneseries TV drama festival (April 4-11).

Maipo Film’s managing director Synnøve Hørsdal who came up with the idea for the show, told “We are thrilled to be selected as Canneseries is such an exclusive platform, with only ten international shows carefully hand-picked. It’s also a fantastic launch pad to attract world buyers, with MIPTV running in parallel.”
Helene Aurø, DR Sales' Sales and Marketing Director added: "It is a fantastic series relevant for many viewers as the story had an impact on a lot of countries."

The 8x45’ series State of Happiness (Lykkeland) is written by Mette M. Bølstad (Nobel), from a concept by Siv Rajendram (Acquitted); Petter Næss directs. The show is set in the summer of 1969 in the coastal town of Stavanger, Norway. International oil companies have been test drilling for years, but nothing has been found and they are in the process of leaving. The town is in crisis. The night before Christmas 1969, Philips Petroleum finds the largest sub sea oil basin in history and everything is about to change.

The ensemble cast includes upcoming British actor Bart Edwards (UnREAL) and newcomers Anne Regine Ellingsæter from Denmark as well as Malene Wadel and Amund Harboe from Norway.
Hørsdal, who produced State of Happiness with Ales Ree, said: “The initial idea for the show was to see how oil changed Norwegian people. The characters are fictional but the story is entirely based on historical events. We also made a point of setting it in Stavanger to keep it local, not national."

State of Happiness will premiere on NRK in August/September 2018. Other broadcasters that have picked up the show include DR, YLE and RTÉ (Ireland). 

The other premium series selected for Canneseries are:

  • Aquí la tierra (Mexico) created by Gael García Bernal, Kyzza Terrazas, Jorge Dorantes (Fox Network Group) 
  • Cacciatore-The Hunter (Italy) created by Marcello Izzo, Silvia Ebreul, Alfonso Sabella (Beta Film Distribution) 
  • Félix (Spain) created by Cesc Gay (ITV Global Entertainment) 
  • Killing Eve (USA) created by Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Endeavour Content) 
  • Miguel (Israel) created by Tom Salama, Daphna Levin (Movie Plus Productions) 
  • Mother (South Korea) created by PARK Jee-Young (Studio Dragon Corporation) 
  • The Typist-Die protokollantin (Germany) created by Nina Grosse (Beta Film) 
  • Undervover (Belgium) created by Nico Moolenarr (Federation Entertainment)
  • When Heroes Fly (Israel) created by Omri Givon (Keshet International).

Drama series screening out of competition include the festival’s opener Versailles-season 3 as well as The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair directed by Jean-Jacques Annaud, and Safe created by Harlan Coben, president of the jury.

Ten other international series were selected for the Canneseries Digital competition.

The awards ceremony will be announced on April 11 and broadcast live on Canal+.

For further details, check: