Little Wing

  • Director: Selma Vilhunen
  • Producer: Making Movies, Kai Nordberg, Kaarle Aho
  • Country: Finland
  • Original title: Tyttö nimeltä Varpu
Winner 2017

Little Wing

Little Wing tells the story of 12-year-old Varpu (Linnea Skog), who is rapidly approaching adulthood while her mother Siru (Paula Vesala) refuses to grow up. One night, Varpu has had enough of her horse-riding friends and her mother. She steals a car and drives north in search of the father she has never met. Finding him awakens something in both Varpu and Siru, and they begin to realise the roles they play in each other’s lives and in the world.

Read more

The Nominees NCFP 2017


Nominees / NCFP

Forældre / 2017 Denmark

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

Hjartasteinn / 2017 Iceland

Read more

Hunting Flies

Nominees / NCFP

Fluefangeren / 2017 Norway

Read more

Sámi Blood

Nominees / NCFP

Sameblod / 2017 Sweden

Read more

About Nordic Council Film Prize

The Nordic Council prizes aim to increase interest in culture and in collaboration on environmental issues, to recognise outstanding artistic and environmental initiatives and to raise the profile and increase the visibility of Nordic co-operation.

The prize-winning film
The winner of the prize will each year be announced during the Session of the Nordic Council. The prize is awarded to an artistically significant, Nordic-produced full-length feature film with cinema distribution. The film must have had its cinema premiere between 1 July 2016 and 30 June 2017. The DKK 350,000 prize will be shared equally among the screenwriter, director, and producer, underscoring how film as an art form is brought about by the close collaboration of these three main contributors.

Criteria for nomination
The nominated films must have deep roots in Nordic culture, be of high artistic quality, distinguish themselves by their artistic originality, and combine and elevate the many elements of film into a compelling and holistic work of art. 

National and Nordic jury
Each national jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers (Ministers for Culture). The members are selected from prominent figures whose work relates analytically and critically to film.

Each national jury has a three-year tenure, and the members of the national juries for 2017 are:

Denmark:   Per Juul Carlsen*, Jakob Wendt Jensen, Eva Novrup Redvall

Finland:    Jaana Puskala*, Harri Römpötti, Mikaela Westerlund

Iceland:    Silja Hauksdóttir*, Börkur Gunnarsson, Helga Þórey Jónsdóttir

Norway:   Inger Merete Hobbelstad*, Kalle Løchen, Britt Sørensen

Sweden:   Kristina Börjeson, Emma Gray-Munthe*, Gunnar Bergdahl

The Nordic jury is made up of the chairs (*) of each of the national juries.

Event Dates

Icelandic Film Prize event
7 - 13 September 2017

Bio Paradis, Reykjavík

Contact: Hrönn Sveinsdóttir

Finnish Film Prize event
14 - 24 September 2017

Love & Anarchy - Helsinki Int. Film Festival

Contact: Anna Möttölä

Danish Film Prize event
18 - 21 September 2017

Øst for Paradis, Aarhus

Contact: Rikke Johnsen

Swedish Film Prize event
20 - 22 October 2017

Best of Norden, Stockholm

Contact: Åsa Jacobsson

Norwegian Film Prize event
28 - 29 October 2017

Nordisk Filmhelg, Oslo

Contact: Jan Langlo

Award Ceremony
1 November 2017

Nordic Council Prizes 
Finlandia House, Helsinki

Contact: Louise Hageman

Nordisk Film & TV Fond

Petri Kemppinen
+47 64006081

Nordic Council of Ministers

Senior Advisor / Communications
Louise Hagemann
+45 21 71 71 41

Danish/International Press & Media

Neumann PR & Communication
Freddy Neumann
M +45 2046 7846

Finnish Press & Media

Company Jorma Akkanen
Jorma Akkanen
M +358 50 567 1888

Icelandic Press & Media

Bio Paradis
Ása Baldursdóttir
M +354 661 1364

Norwegian Press & Media

Tonje Lacher
M +47 90 65 10 19

Swedish Press & Media

Åsa Jacobsson
M +46 761 164 217