The top drama award for Love Me (Älska Mig) was a triumph for popular actress Josefine Bornebusch who created, directed and stars in it. “I'm so taken aback that I hardly know what to say. It's so much fun! I just want to hug everyone who watched and followed this journey that just continues", said Bornebusch. 

The show produced by Warner Bros International TV, is one of Nent Group/Viaplay’s biggest drama hits -both with viewers and critics - and a second season is due to premiere September 13. Eccho Rights handles sales.       

SVT’s intense drama Caliphate which was also a favourite at the Kristallen, sharing four nominations with Love Me, received two awards for Best Actress (Gizem Erdogan) and Best Actor (Amed Bozan). The drama about religious fundamentalism became the most streamed series ever on SVT Play and is now available on Netflix. 

Caliphate’s co-writers Wilhelm Behrman and Niklas Rockstöm were nominated earlier this year for the Nordisk Film & TV Fond Prize-Best Nordic Screenplay, (see interview CLICK HERE).

Meanwhile C More/TV4’s Ture Sventon and the Secret of the Bermuda Triangle (Ture Sventon och Bermudatriangelns hemlighet), supported by Nordisk Film & TV Fond, took home the Kristallen for Children’s programme of the year.  “The Kristallen for Ture Sventon feels like a very nice recognition for our ability to gather the whole family in front of high-quality content on C More,” said Head of Drama Josefine Tengblad, who thanked Nordisk Film TV, executive producer Lisa Dahlberg and her entire drama group. 

In other key categories, SVT picked up the Best Comedy Programme prize for Leif & Billy, and Best Documentary programme for Gold Fever (Guld feber) about the world’s finest Royal Coin Cabinet, directed and produced by Åsa Blanck. 

Kanal5 won the programme of the year for the reality series Sökjakt (Dplay/ITV Studios).

An Honorary Kristallen award was dedicated to TV personality Adam Alsing who passed away in the spring due to Covid-19.

The Kristallen TV Awards ceremony at Stockholm’s Vasateatern last night was hosted by Petra Mede and transmitted live by TV4.

For the full list of awards, check: